Dodge Magnum Forum - Modern Mopar Forum

Dodge Magnum Forum - Modern Mopar Forum (https://www.magnumforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Magnum Performance Mods Engine - SRT8 (https://www.magnumforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Intake Manifold Gasket (https://www.magnumforumz.com/showthread.php?t=4650)

The_Alchemist35 04-23-2020 06:11 PM

Intake Manifold Gasket

Hello everyone,
I am a new member to this forum, and I am new to working on cars in general.
I am driving a 06 SRT8 magnum, and when let the car rev out, i get a sort of nasty smell in the cabin. I do not think it is the catalytic converter, rather a leaking/cracked intake manifold gasket. I would like to replace them, but do not feel confident in the other online resources.
I was hoping I could get some guidance from this forum.

thank you,
The_Alchemist35

jkelly16 04-24-2020 08:47 AM

I've not pulled a 6.1 intake but I believe it does not have a gasket, it's individual rubber rings that go around each port on the intake. Also if your intake was leaking you'd probably be having misfire/idle issues.

The other thing is unleaded gas is going to cause a rotten egg smell when you get on it, that's normal.

HemiLonestar 04-24-2020 01:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkelly16 (Post 18920)
I've not pulled a 6.1 intake but I believe it does not have a gasket, it's individual rubber rings that go around each port on the intake. Also if your intake was leaking you'd probably be having misfire/idle issues.

The other thing is unleaded gas is going to cause a rotten egg smell when you get on it, that's normal.

The 6.1 is the only hemi that actually uses a gasket; the plastic intakes use the o-rings you mentioned:

https://cdn11.bigcommerce.com/s-rhkj...=2&imbypass=on

The_Alchemist35 04-24-2020 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkelly16 (Post 18920)

For sure.